First Week Back

25.09 – 30.09

 

25.09

The 25th was our first day back, I wasn’t sure how I felt about this because I didn’t really like last year that much so I was a bit nervous.

We had a talk about the year ahead and I managed to get a desk space that I like.

26.09

Today I had a meeting with a careers advisor about the course because I was still a bit unsure about it all, she made me feel a lot better about it all so I’ve decided to stick with it for now.

After my meeting I continued to work on my BAMS project. At the start of year briefing we had been told there were couple of other briefs but I wanted to stick to doing the BAMS project because I had had the summer to develop ideas for it and I’d reached a fairly solid solid design that I wanted to do and that I was excited about.

27.09

We had a more detailed briefing about BAMS where we could ask questions about things we were unsure of. What I learned was that BAMS is very traditional and I’m starting to wonder how well I can actually adhere to that. So I guess I am a little worried about it but I know that I’ve got something that I really want to do and will keep me interested in the project.

28.09

We had a talk about pouring bronze and an overview of the process. It was really interesting and nice to get an idea of what would be coming up in the coming weeks.

After the talk I started to finalise my design and come up with a plan on how to make it so that I could get a mould.

My plan was to make the design on illustrator and then laser cut it. I wanted to do it this way because my design is very precise and I doubt I would be able to do it without CAD.

29.09

I started using Adobe Illustrator to make my design. It started well and the design was looking good.

We also had our constellation induction where we were told about how constellation would work this year. I have to admit I little bit daunted by it all.

30.09

I managed to finish my CAD and then I started my ideas sheet which was about my origami medal.

 

Leave a comment