Topological Wellness 2

Weighted blanket pt. 1

One of the things that I chose to make for my degree show is a weighted blanket. I have done some research into why weighted blankets work and what I like and don’t like about weighted blankets that are already on the market.

Since my aesthetic theme is topology, I knew that surface pattern would be important, so I decided to make some test pieces.

Above are my test pieces. I tried to colour some of the pieces, however it did not go all that well. My favorites are the simple line ones because they most resemble maps and I like the illustrative nature of them. The one problem I did have was the buckling of the material. I think lowering the tension on the sewing machine would help as well as adding iron on interfacing.

After those surface pattern tests, I decided to make a tiny version of the blanket. Whilst this wouldn’t really be comparable to the full size version in terms of the undertaking, it allowed me to see how the surface pattern might change.

I made the mini insert by cutting some fabric and then putting rice into it. To make the larger one I would need 10% of my body weight in filling material and then to divide it by however many pockets I would be making.

Leave a comment