Making My Final Fish

I have decided that for my final piece I wanted to make some fish using wire, masking tape and tissue paper. My hope was that I could make more expressive and interesting models this way.

My idea was that I could display a couple of models on plinth in front of my drawings.

I started by making a prototype to test out my method as I wasn’t sure how it would work to glue tissue paper to masking tape.

I did this by making an eel based off of one of my drawings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once I had done that, I decided to make an octopus which was meant to show how octopus are consumed in quite a cruel way in Japan. The octopus are killed in quite a nasty way because they are believed to taste better soon after they have died. The thing was that there is a problem with disposable chopsticks and so I thought I could make an octopus and put chopsticks in it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Above is the process of making my octopus. I decided not to continue it because I didn’t think it fit in the well so I wanted to just do the fish.

IMG_1442
I started with a simple wire frame. 
IMG_1451
The wire frame. 

IMG_1446

IMG_1450
Once I finished the wire frame, I covered it in masking tape. I did this so I would have a good base to put the tissue paper on. 
IMG_1452
My other fish. 
IMG_1450
The overweight fish. 
IMG_1477
I covered them in white tissue paper and then started putting the coloured paper on them.
IMG_1478
Here they have both been covered in tissue. 
IMG_1479
Some yellow tissue paper for the accent colours. 
IMG_1480
On this fish I decided to put the accent colours on first. 
IMG_1481
I then covered it with green. 
IMG_1509
Once it was covered and dry I put some ink washes over it to make it more 3D. I used pearlescent green for the radioactive gunk for the fish. 
IMG_1510
Some shading using sepia ink since black can sometimes be too harsh. 
IMG_1511
The completed models. 
Leave a Reply

