Expressive Drawing

After looking at my baked models, I realised why I didn’t like them. I think it’s because they don’t have have quirks or there’s something about the fun of them that is missing. I also didn’t like the way I had done the eel and it really does look too much like something from Pokemon.

In order to rectify this I decided to try some expressive drawing. I was a bit apprehensive about how this would turn out, but I knew if it went well, it could be something really good.

I started off by using pens and graphite and created the images above. I think they’re ok but I thought that I could do better and so I got my paintbrush, some drawing ink and a long tube.

IMG_1419
These are some of the tools I used although I didn’t use the feather in the end.
IMG_1418
I used an elastic band to tie the paintbrush to the pole. I had stuck some parcel paper to the back of my door and I then started drawing.

It was fun to draw using this method and I think that I came up with some really good drawings that are shown below.

IMG_1488IMG_1489

Below are photos of the eel drawings that I did. You can see where I’ve managed to improve my control over the brush. The new idea I got for the eel was that it would be interesting if it was getting caught on fishing lines and getting tangled. It is a similar problem to pigeons where their talons get tangled in threads which then constricted their toes and cause swelling and eventually cause them to get cut off.

IMG_1490IMG_1491IMG_1492

I had a lot of fun experimenting with this way of drawing and finding out about how I could get more interesting forms out of my drawings and how they could look more animated and alive.

My favourite drawing out of the bunch is the octopus drawing below which was also done using the method above.

Leave a Reply

