Making the Prototype Part 2

Below is a documentation of making my prototype planter. I used materials that were already available to me and it was a pretty simple process.

IMG_1273
I started with a straw that I am going to pierce with a needle. 
IMG_1274
Piercing the straw.
IMG_1275
The completed straw. 
IMG_1283
The pots that I will use for my prototypes, I am using two per piece so that I can make four in total which should be enough to test the different watering ideas I have.
IMG_1276
These are the materials I am using, the straws, the pots and a hand drill.
IMG_1277
Before I drill, I need to mark out where exactly to drill because it is important that everything aligns properly. 
IMG_1278
To make sure the holes are perfectly opposite each other, I used a piece of charcoal to mark the inside of the pot. By holding the put up to the light, I can see the mark from the outside of the pot which I then mark with a sharpie.
IMG_1279
I also mark the inside (not entirely sure why).
IMG_1280
I have then drilled the holes and tested that the holes align. I then glue the pots together.
IMG_1281
I then attach some little pieces of straw at the back to support the structure and also make sure that it stands up properly. 
IMG_1282
The finished thing with soil and cress seeds inside. I used cress seeds because cress can grow in shallow/small spaces (I grew cress in a Kinder Egg one time) and it also grows very quickly (2-3 days).
Leave a Reply

