Embroidering

The last thing I did was try some embroidering. I had never used a sewing machine  in this way before and I was looking forward to it.

I was meant to have brought a pattern to work from with me but admittedly I had forgotten so I decided I to just draw up a little character. I drew a little bear because I thought it would look cute and I liked the illustrative quality it would have.

img_1044
My embroidered bear next to my original drawing.

I chose the colours of my fabric, cut them out and used some bondaweb to stick the fabric pieces together ready to sew.

img_1039
Starting to sew my bear.
img_1040
The outline and belly are in place.
img_1041
Here I have sewn in some of the smaller pieces like the snout and ears.
img_1042
Here I’ve added in the details like the nose, claws and eyes.
img_1043
My finished bear.

Overall I am very happy with my bear. I find it very cute although I would have preferred to have had a brown colour for the main body instead of the grey but I still like my bear nonetheless.

I think my sewing was pretty good considering how I haven’t done free machine before.

Leave a Reply

