Siteless Part 2

The Wire

Now that i had my drawings, it was time to do something with them. We had a wire working workshop that morning so I decided to see what kinds of things I should do with my drawings and what possibilities there were with the wire. I’d done a lot of wire work before but I’d never done it with this idea of drawing with wire in mind, it was usually purely a functional thing. For example I usually used wire when I needed a frame for something, I very rarely left wire all on it’s own so it was interesting to try this different way of thinking with the material.

I decided that I would first use my wooden frame drawing to produce something fairly 2D to see what result I could get from it.

img_0888
The initial photo that my drawing comes from.
img_0904
My pen drawing that I would be doing a wire drawing of.
img_0905
My starting piece of wire.

I started by finding some wire that I liked the thickness of. I used fairly thick wire because I wanted it to hold a firm, strong shape like wood does. I used pliers to manipulate it and get clean shapes and angles.

img_0906
Here I’ve made my first part of the shape which will be added to.
img_0907
I’ve got a few more shapes ready which will need spot welding to put together.
img_0908
The pieces have been spot welded together and just need a little tidying up. 
img_0909
Spot welding the thinner wire that make up some of the detail. This was a little tricky because the spot welder melted through the thinner wire a bit too much and made it pretty fragile.
img_0912
My finished wire piece based off of the wooden frame. 
img_0894
A photo of my lunch box that I wanted to make an object from. I decided this time I would make something that’s more 3D. 
img_0911
The drawing that I wanted to base my second wire model on.
img_0913
The beginnings of my 3D form. 
img_0914
I wanted there to be as few pieces of wire used as possible and to make it almost like a continuous line. 
img_0915
My piece is almost finished, the most challenging aspect of this was trying not to make it look too much like the lunchbox so I did my best to abstract it as best I could. 

img_0916

img_0917
My final wire object. I’m really pleased with the finished piece. I decided to put some tissue paper on it to block some of the shapes that i wanted to come out more solidly. 

 

Leave a Reply

