A Trip to London Part 2

The Huntarian Museum

On a previous trip to London one of the things I had desperately wanted to see was the Huntarian Museum because of it’s fantastic array of biological oddities such as tumours and sections of animals stomachs, it’s one of the darkly fascinating places that I feel should gross me out but really doesn’t. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to make it so I used this trip to London as an opportunity to go and see it, especially as it will be closing soon to renovate.

Unfortunately they did not allow photographs in the museum so I needed to rely on my ability to draw what I was seeing. It’s a shame because I wanted to document everything I could but time was limited.

I figured that going to the Huntarian Museum would be good for my practice because I’ve always been interest in weird objects that can be in flux between beautiful and horrible and seeing what I can create that gets both reactions from people.

One of the most interesting things in the museum were these series of panels on the wall and they all had preserved veins on big wooden blocks. Perhaps the most interesting thing pertaining to these however was not the veins themselves as such but the fact that despite all of our modern sciences and medical advances through the years, no one can work out how these veins were preserved in such good condition after all these years.

 

dsc_0701-2
This is a pastel drawing of sympathetic nerves that I saw at the museum on one of those panels that were preserved by some mystery technique.
dsc_0702-2
Pen drawings of a small intestine of a minke whale and a lion claw. Both of these things had strange, grotesque shapes in them.
dsc_0703-2
Pastel drawing of a stomach of a young turtle. Again I love all the weird shapes and twisty turn nature of the body parts, things that could only ever have been designed by nature.
dsc_0704-2
A drawing of a  portion of the mesentery of a sheep with several globular cysts attached to the tissue by long pedicles.

 

 

Leave a Reply

