A Trip to London Part 1

London Design Festival 2016

The first thing that we did when we went to London was looking around at the London Design Festival which had a large variety of things ranging from wallpapers to light fixings.

Overall I really enjoyed the festival and below are some of the things that I particularly took a shine to.

 

An Everything

An Everything is a Taiwanese design studio that are concerned with the way that we interact with and view our time. They have designed a calendar that is very simple but works really well where you pop out dates in the month or year that are of note and they stand out to you. It makes things stand out in a way that are not visually cluttered and makes the interaction and organisation of time more enticing, easier and enjoyable.

dsc_0690-2
An Everything business card.
img_0875
This is the An Everything display at the festival. I was drawn to the high contrast colours and sharp, clean shapes. I loved the concept behind the calendar and how it aims to make interacting with our time a joy rather than something that is stressful. 

 

Duck Ceramics

I liked Duck Ceramics because I found the pieces entertaining. They have a very simple aesthetic but it is a fun one.

Duck Ceramics is a studio run by Alice Duck who slip casts her pieces and finishes them off by hand to make sure each vessel is identical but also different in some way. They take inspiration from classic shapes and put a spin on them and celebrate mistakes and things that evidence the making process.

dsc_0688-2

img_0865
I like how the base vessel is a simple grey with white stripes going down it looks as though there is water inside that’s overflowing and dripping down the edges. I think this element adds fun to what would otherwise be a rather plain (although nice enough) design. 

 

Pressed and Folded

Pressed and Folded are British greetings cards that are designed and printed by James and Malissa Brown. I was drawn to the unusual, bold designs and I also liked that they were universal greetings cards so you could use them for anything.

dsc_0697-2

The photos below are taken from the ‘Brush’ collection. I like that they are pretty understated whilst retaining a sense of dynamism and excitement. They’re both relatively simple at their core but they’re easy to appreciate and are fun to look at.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Emodi Design 

Emodi design is about beautiful handmade furniture and homeware pieces that are handmade in London. I liked the light hearted take on geometric design on their pillows because it made them feel more handmade and more homely and inviting.

I was also very impressed by the furniture which I thought was really amazing and lovely to look at. I also thought that the ethos behind the furniture was something that I could really get behind and as someone who will be making things to put into the world in some way, shape or form I also need to think about. I understood their idea to be that if you make something and make it well with care and attention then people will treasure it and keep it and this helps contribute a solution to the throwaway society that has taken shape. The other element that goes towards this is that they use reclaimed wood so they are not taking new resources that don’t necessarily need to be broken into.

dsc_0695-2

bespoke_furniture_pallet
An image of one of their furniture pieces made from reclaimed wood. I love the variation in the colour of the wood and how this has been considered in the design. I also like the overall silhouette of the piece because it is simple, thought out and very functional.

Anna Wiscombe

Anna Wiscombe is based in London but originally hails from Dorset. Her work is heavily inspired by nature and she often makes trips from London back down to Dorset. Her work is made from sustainably sourced wood of all kinds such as birch and plywood which is then laser cut and hand painted.

I like Wiscombe’s work a lot because it is so soothing to look at, the colours are calm and the shapes are very organic and flowing.

dsc_0693-2
A card with a photo of Anna Wiscombe’s work on it.

 

Shufflebotham

Shufflebotham was started by Jon Thomas in 2015 with the aim of creating timeless pieces designed and made in Britain. These pieces are very simple and minimal but they have strong, distinctive silhouettes that add interest to them. As well as the lighting depicted below on the cards, Shufflebotham also design bespoke wallpaper.

dsc_0698-2
I liked these acrylic lights because of their strong shape and simplicity. 
dsc_0694-2
An example of one of the bespoke wallpapers that Shufflebotham have designed. I find this wallpaper a strange one because it looks like flooring but at the same time I find the colours and the pattern appealing. 

David Pompa

David Pompa is a Mexican designer who opened his first store in Mexico City in 2013. The idea behind his design studio is to reinvent Mexican artisanry and to keep traditional craft and ideas alive in contemporary design.

dsc_0692-2

img_0869
I really liked these cone shaped lights for the simple shape and appealing, calm colour. They’re made from traditional Mexican pottery and so these pieces really tie in the idea of keeping these orders crafts alive and working with contemporary ideas. I really enjoy the colours and the pattern painted on the light on the right. 
img_0870
I liked these pieces because of the soft light and that the light looked like they were made of jars which reminded me of something from the gaming series ‘The Legend of Zelda’. They’re very serene and gentle and look as though they could fit into most homes. These pieces include handblown glass which again,  puts emphasis on the traditional crafts. 

Overall I really enjoyed what I saw in the London Design Festival and I think I would really consider going again next year. I saw a lot of things that made me consider my practice in a variety of ways for example the attention to detail in my work, sustainability and of course thinking about how I use materials and trying to push the boundaries of ideas and materials.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Above are various images of things that caught my eye in the festival.

 

Leave a Reply

