Craft in the Bay Part 2

The Exhibition Space

Drawing Inspirations

Elizabeth Turrell

I found myself drawn to Turrell’s work because I’m interested in type and I liked how the artist has used type as a way of drawing by blocking certain letters and spaces between them. I like the shapes that can be inferred but aren’t clear because they’re abstracted by the letterforms or they might have been created by the letterforms.

I also liked the drawings underneath the type drawings mostly because the sense of line and strong marks that they have.

img_0856

 

Richard St. John Heeley

Heeley is a ceramic artist who uses his vessels as a way of carrying his marks however my favourite pieces are his ink drawings because of the sense of depth and the oriental aesthetic that they seem to derive influence from. I also love how care free and unafraid these drawings are. They don’t look carefully mapped out and meticulously executed and yet I can respect the skill and control that Heeley clearly has over this medium.

img_0859
These two drawings, particularly the one on the right, are my favourite drawings because of how simple they are but how much they convey and the confidence they are executed with.
img_0860
I was also interested in the prints in the book  especially the of the drawings of mountains which for me, have this tremendous sense of grand scale and nature’s power.

Christie Brown 

The thing that drew me to Christie Brown’s figurative work was that I found the figures a bit creepy and unnerving because of the way the heads don’t quite look like they fit on the bodies and the weird staring eyes that they have.

Brown’s practice relates to the relationship between people and objects that are found in museums and might be considered ancient and/or precious.

img_0861
I find the doll like aesthetic of the ceramic because it’s a bit unnerving especially because they give a sense of staring into the space and I think that it’s made even creepier because there’s quite a few of them in the space. I like that they aren’t solid white because the black marks makes them seem a bit more alive and like they have moved around and lived some kind of life. 

 

img_0862

This was the figure that I found most unnerving because of the face of the figure. The eyes are just completely black and staring and don’t really disclose any kind of intent or emotion. I think the lack of arms and legs on the figure also leads to this feeling of unease because I couldn’t be sure of what kind of stance the figure is trying to take and so I don’t know if it’s meant to be threatening or not. I like this ambiguity and also that the focus is mean to be on the face of the figure rather than it’s body in contrast to the photo above this one in which the body and pose seem more deliberate to me than this one.

Overall

Overall I enjoyed this exhibition, I made me think more about the ways that people can draw. I’ve always had quite a traditional idea about drawing and so Heeley’s drawings were the ones that most struck me as what I would call a drawing and I have to admit that those drawings were my favourite I think partly because they most matched my idea of what a drawing might be but also aesthetically as well. I did enjoy the other pieces as well but I didn’t really see them as drawings necessarily.

 

Leave a Reply

